From the late 1860s, Monet and other like-minded artists met with rejection from the conservative Académie des Beaux-Arts, which held its annual exhibition at the Salon 
de Paris. During the latter part of 1873, artists Claude Monet, Edgar Degas, Pierre-Auguste Renoir and Camille Pissarro, among others, in turn rejected the Salon and organized the Société Anonyme des Artistes Peintres, Sculpteurs et Graveurs (The Cooperative and Anonymous Association of Painters, Sculptors, and Engravers) to exhibit their work independently from the conventionally 
conservative Academy. 

They launched the first Independent Salon in 1874. They continued to exhibit together in what became known as Impressionist Salons seven more times, changing the art world forever. 

Monet’s later years were dedicated to painting oversized canvases of water lilies, concentrating on color, light, movement and reflection.